IHS Engineering360 Webinars
Home | Upcoming Webinars | On-Demand Webinars | Video Library | FAQ | Contact Us

Power Generation & Distribution Equipment
December 7, 2011

Register Now
This webinar has concluded. We are sorry you missed it. Please review our Upcoming Webinars and On-Demand Webinars for optional webinars to attend. Be sure to sign up for the next webinar in this series.
**Subject to change prior to show date
11:30 AM - 6:00 PM EST (8:30 AM - 3:00 PM PST)
Power Generation & Distribution Equipment Open
  • Visit the many booths in the Exhibit Hall, chat with booth representatives, learn about new products, and more.
  • Visit the Networking Lounge and interact with other event attendees.
  • Visit the Resource Center and download all materials of interest.
12:00 PM - 12:15 PM EST (9:00 AM - 9:15 AM PST)
Besides new technology, the path to energy independence includes system upgrades and better maintenance strategies. GlobalSpec’s Power Generation & Distribution Equipment event examines efforts to improve day-to-day operational issues impacting power generation efficiencies. Learn More
Jim Brennan, News Anchor, GlobalSpec
12:30 PM - 1:30 PM EST (9:30 AM - 10:30 AM PST)
What's in your electric PDM toolbox? If you haven't introduced your staff to the benefits of UE Systems ultrasound electrical inspection tools, you're taking too much risk. Learn More
Alan Bandes, Vice President of Marketing, UE Systems, Inc.
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST (11:00 AM - 12:00 PM PST)
This presentation provides an overview of methods for avoiding unplanned shutdowns due to corrosion failures in non-rotating power generation equipment. Reliable operations have always been important but are now more critical due to the added demands on plant engineers and management. Included are reviews of the common forms of corrosion and control methods in these applications. Specific mitigation actions are presented for four common classes of problems. Learn More
Gerald Davis, President, Davis Materials & Mechanical Engineering
3:15 PM - 4:00 PM EST (12:15 PM - 1:00 PM PST)
The start-up and shutdown sequence of a vertical, single stage, high horsepower, low-speed circulating water pump in any power plant is very harsh on the pump, associated prime mover, and supporting structure. Of particular concern to power plant operators: circulating water systems that start and stop frequently due to varying generation requirements. Learn More
William Livoti, Senior Principal Engineer, Baldor
4:15 PM - 5:00 PM EST (1:15 PM - 2:00 PM PST)
Patented in 1933, the rubber-insulating glove continues to protect workers in the power generation and electrical distribution fields. This presentation explains the advantages and disadvantages associated with different rubber types. Attendees will also learn how to extend the useful life of rubber insulating goods through proper use, maintenance, and storage. Learn More
Greg Cain, Rubber-Goods Specialist, Hi-Line Utility Supply Company
5:00 PM - 5:30 PM EST (2:00 PM - 2:30 PM PST)
This session will focus on the Measurement and Management of Dissolved Oxygen in an Industrial steam cycle, specifically as it relates to power generation. Learn how dissolved oxygen affects component corrosion, and why accurate and reliable measurement of water chemistry can help prevent catastrophic failure. Learn More
Jean Holz, Applications Development Manager for Power, Hach
5:30 PM - 6:00 PM EST (2:30 PM - 3:00 PM PST)
  • Interact with Attendees and Exhibitors in the Exhibit Hall and Networking Lounge.
  • Presentations available On-Demand.