IHS Engineering360 Events
Home | Upcoming Events & Webinars | On-Demand Events & Webinars | Video Library | FAQ | Contact Us

Presents . . .

How Automotive Leaders Manage and Use Materials Information
November 15, 2012

Register Now
This event has concluded. We are sorry you missed it. Please review our Upcoming Events and On-Demand Events for optional events to attend. Be sure to sign up for the next event in this series.
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM EST (7:00 AM - 8:00 AM PST)
How Automotive Leaders Manage and Use Materials Information

This webinar will be broadcasted at 10 am New York, 7 am Los Angeles, 3 pm London, 4 pm Paris.

The materials used in vehicles have never been under more scrutiny. The pressure to cut weight and cost is intensifying, as is the need to streamline engineering processes in the wake of reorganizations and cutbacks. With the latest materials information technology, automotive companies can create a single 'gold source' of company materials knowledge. Integration into enterprise-wide systems and engineering workflows can optimize material decision-making to enforce "preferred" material programs and better assess supply chain or regulatory compliance risk. In addition, a materials information management system supports strategic materials objectives in areas such as emissions reduction, control of manufacturing and warranty costs, or consolidation and productivity initiatives. This presentation provides an introduction to this powerful technology and its use in vehicle engineering. Speakers from Jaguar Land Rover and TRW Automotive offer insights from both an OEM and a supplier perspective on the strategic importance of materials. Learn why a robust, fit-for-purpose, materials information management system is a crucial requirement for today's automotive industry.

Key Take-Aways:
  • Learn why materials information plays such a strategic role in the automotive industry
  • Understand the challenges faced by organizations seeking to maximize the impact of their materials knowledge
  • See the latest materials information technology in action
  • Hear from industry leaders (both OEMs and Suppliers) why materials information technology is important to their engineering strategy
Speakers:
Andrew Haggie, Senior Manager, Materials Engineering Department, Jaguar Land Rover

Andrew Haggie is the senior manager of Jaguar Land Rover's Materials Engineering Department. He has responsibility for providing materials consultancy and laboratory test services to all Jaguar and Land Rover vehicle development programs. This involves material selection, validation, competitor benchmarking, quality improvements, and new technology evaluation and implementation. Haggie is a graduate in Materials Science and Technology from Sheffield University, UK.

Dr Jens Merkel, Materials Engineering, TRW Automotive

Jens Merkel is responsible for the material database and other materials-related services at TRW Automotive, a leading supplier of safety products and services to the automotive industry. Merkel studied mechanical engineering, and completed a PhD in materials science and engineering, at the University of Karlsruhe (TH) / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany.

Dan Williams, Automotive Product Manager, Granta Design

Automotive Product Manager Dan Williams is responsible for ensuring that Granta Design's industry-leading materials information software meets the needs of the automotive industry. A physics graduate from Oxford University, he has 11 years of experience in engineering software; in particular, solving challenges related to materials information management and material selection.