AutoCAD Pocket Reference, 4th Edition

PURGE UNWANTED AND UNUSED BLOCKS

You can remove a block reference from your drawing by erasing it; however, the block definition remains in the drawing's block definition table. To remove any unused blocks, dimension styles, text styles, layers and linetypes you may use the Purge command.

How to delete unwanted and unused blocks from the current drawing.

  1. Select the Purge command using one of the following:

    <b class="bold">Ribbon = None</b><b class="bold">Application Menu = Drawing Utilities / Purge</b><b class="bold">Keyboard = Purge </b>
  2. Select the + sign beside Blocks.

  3. Select the block that you wish to purge.

  4. Select the Purge button.

  5. Select the Close button.

WHERE ARE BLOCKS SAVED?

When you create a Block it is saved within the drawing you created it in.

(If you open another drawing you will not find that block.)

UNLIMITED FREE
ACCESS
TO THE WORLD'S BEST IDEAS

SUBMIT
Already a GlobalSpec user? Log in.

This is embarrasing...

An error occurred while processing the form. Please try again in a few minutes.

Customize Your GlobalSpec Experience

Category: Purge Controllers and Indicators
Finish!
Privacy Policy

This is embarrasing...

An error occurred while processing the form. Please try again in a few minutes.